an addition to the family… as yet unnamed

20130420-084121.jpg

this beauty found her way into my life last weekend.

since adopting her, I have discovered a new friend – Amanda, have become even more (how is this possible?) excited about all things weaving, and am about to embark on a lovely “rebirthing” process to get her into ship shape creation mode!

20130420-084657.jpg

heddles, in need of some help…

the heddles, the string bits that hang between the two rods, are what move up and down to create the shed in weaving, are in a bad way.

20130420-084932.jpg

rusty 16dpi reed, within the beater

and the reed, the metal grid that is used to “beat” down the weft to help form the weaving, is very rusty.

lucky for me, my new friend Amanda, has been so so generous with sharing her knowledge and, if you clicked on the link on the previous mention of her name, you’ll have been taken to her post about helping another weaver to restore her “Hilda”, the exact same loom! Amanda has directed me to Petlins, an online store that supplies weavers and spinners with just about everything! I have ordered replacement heddles, a new reed and a couple of stick shuttles, although really, my rolled up Kraft paper ‘shuttle/bobbin was doing such a good job… (NO, NO it wasn’t! I was wondering why it seemed so hard to get my hand into the shed to grab the paper that was getting tangled in the warp all the time!!!)

now all I need to do is sit at the letterbox until the postie arrives….

more soon…

THANK YOU AMANDA… YOU ARE A GEM!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to an addition to the family… as yet unnamed

  1. Alycia says:

    Good day.
    I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

