i don’t want to start this post by complaining but, oh my goodness it’s been hot!  

i haven’t put my veggies in yet so at least i can’t be sad about losing crops.  my beautiful tree fern is looking a little tragic though.  i’m told it will come back….

02feb09friedtreefern

the same tree fern back in november was looking so lovely and lush.

on the plus side hot weather calls for a slow down.  needle and thread, slow, deliberate stitches and “sunflower” continues on.  still???? slow, i tell you, slow!!!

 

i've used bits of my rusted fabrics for the boarder

i've used bits of my rusted fabrics for the boarder

 

 

my first attempt at patchwork is this somewhat "cattywhompus" log cabin!  let it be noted that it is totally deliberate that there is not a straight line or even "log" in sight.  i have a "cattywhompus" mentor!

my first attempt at patchwork is this somewhat "cattywhompus" log cabin! let it be noted that it is totally deliberate that there is not a straight line or even "log" in sight. i have a "cattywhompus" mentor!

 

“cattywhompus”

may this week bring some relief to all who are experiencing the extremes of weather wherever you are.

xo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. jacky says:

    What a fantastic first attempt at patchwork Samm! I love those naive log cabin blocks and the rust dyed fabrics are scrummy.
    I am enjoying watching your “Sunflower” piece evolve.

  2. wildnest says:

    this sunflower work of art is just magic! love it! keep showing us the progression.

    hot? HOT? Freakin’ bloody hot. Just beautiful for the first day of school. What about Adelaide? Crap! I HATE this weather, hate it with a passion. Now, there, I’ve complained enough for both of us!
    xx

  3. enchantedcurious says:

    vanessa makes me laugh…..
    go girl. Keep stitchin…..

  4. Gail Stiffe says:

    Hi Sam, My treefern looks worse it went from green one day to brown the next, might be beyond hope, I’ve looked at it out my kitchen window ever since we moved in here over 20 years ago.
    But that’s not why I’m here, I just spotted your comment on the my land my paper site and if you would like to contribute you have a week or two. I’ll be posting all the cards to Tassie on about the 16th Feb.

Leave a Reply

