mojo….

mo·jo (mj)

n. pl. mo·jos or mo·joes

1. A magic charm or spell.
2. An amulet, often a small flannel bag containing one or more magic items, worn by adherents of hoodoo or voodoo.
3. Personal magnetism; charm.

[Perhaps ultimately from Fula moco'o, medicine man.]

I think it’s back.  My mojo.  A very wise old owl friend of mine commented recently when I was lamenting on my Facebook status that I had lost it.  Daniel always knew it was there.  Such faith he has!  He was right!  It just took a day of play at Ro’s workshop.  I tried to come up with an adjective to describe my saturday in the hills, surrounded by fellow “art girls”, guided by the exquisite Mother Ro, sustained by Steve’s beautiful food, and fulfilled by the magic of colourful art play…… but how does one find the perfect word?

creative-chaoscreative chaos

sustainSteve’s amazing lunch spread

Ro’s first workshop at home was heaven.  I had read and heard of Ro’s generosity and having met Ro way back in May I could easily understand that this woman is definately one of the “good ones”, but to actually experience her workshop by far exceeded all expectation.  Not only were we fed and watered (not just one type of coffee but three, not one box of boring old teabags but about five choices of lovely herbal and “normal” teas, not one cake or plate of supermarket bikkies but a plate of home made chocolate chip bikkies, a chocolate cake and a legendary ginger cake too – the list goes on, this was just morning tea….) but we were nurtured and gently guided by a woman who was “present” throughout the entire day.  Not once did I look up from my mess on the beautiful new work table (Steve again!!!) and find an empty space where the teacher should have been, not once did I look up and feel that she wasn’t interested in what we were doing.  At times I would look up and there was Ro, smiling at the creative chaos around her.  I felt blessed and happy, all day.  Ro, thank you for letting me into your space, into your home and world.  Thank you for a truly wonderful day of art play.  And no, this overpouring of adulation is not too much – you go do a workshop with Ro – you’ll see!

journaljournal-binding

my journal signature, finished on sunday


Sunday morning was spent in another kind of chaos…. pancake breakfast at the Nelson-Williams.  I wish I’d taken more photos of the experience!  I wish I’d had the camera out especially for when the house filled with smoke and it was ALMOST impossible to breathe, for when Alfie the Afgan decided he’d had enough of the smelly smoky stuff and for when we were all singing along to “Mamma Mia” at the top of our lungs with kids and adults all alike.  Instead, I just have this…..

hear-no-evilit’s a kind of madness that only occurs after Marty’s banana pancakes with smoky bacon and maple syrup….

Here’s a couple of other photos from my lovely sunday with my husband….

red-hill

rocks

red-hill2

xo


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to mojo….

  1. ro bruhn says:

    WOW Samm, what a rap, I hope I can live up to your fabulous comments. I’m so glad you enjoyed the workshop, I had a ball, I’m glad you weren’t looking when I left for a few minutes to go to the loo. It was an amazing experience for me to teach such a wonderful group of people at home, Steve and I are both looking forward to doing it again. Thanks again for helping to make it such a great day
    xo

  2. Jo says:

    Hi Samm,
    Thanks for visiting me…I love your blog…Ro’s workshop was fantastic and it was great meeting you.
    Love the pics you took and your photography is fantastic!

  3. Jason says:

    Hi there,

    I’m envious that you could learn this cool technique. When I get back to Australia I hope I’ll be able to learn how to do it too.

  4. Jacky says:

    Fantastic photos Samm…. thanks for sharing with us!

    Jacky xox

Leave a Reply

