making art and reading rules

I’ve been so busy today, working on my quilting arts 2008 calendar challenge.  I read and reread the challenge rules, made my felt for the background making sure that I had just the right size for the challenge dimensions.  I spent the day on the sewing machine today, collaging my images.  Late this afternoon, I thought I’d sit and flick through the latest copy of Quilting Arts and relax for a bit… yeah, great! I read the competition guidelines again – oops, made my piece about 8 inches too big all around!!!

prince dreaming of a one eared red dog dancing

This is my wip “prince dreaming of a one eared red dog dancing”.  The theme for the challenge is “a novel idea” and for some strange reason the novel “le petit prince” by antoine du saint exupery popped into my head.  The last time I read it was in final year french in high school, I have fond memories of trying to read and understand the book and of year 12 french.  Not much detail is clear about the book though but i do remember something about a boab tree, a gorgeous young blonde prince and lots of stars or planets in the sky! So this is my version.  Unfortunately though, to send a piece for the competition, I’m going to have to redo it all!  This one is good practice I spose!  I’ve got a bit to go yet!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to making art and reading rules

  1. pangolin says:

    Ohhhhh. Look .what are you doing over here ? Verrrry nice Sammy.

  2. sophie says:

    I love your blogs, dogs and beautiful work – you should have told me earlier! Now I can see you all the time, but if you want to see me it will have to be the real thing, and we’ll definitely be at beach on Sunday for a week.

Leave a Reply

