Ready to weave

20130513-202229.jpg

I finally got the opportunity to visit the lovely Amanda yesterday. I took my new/old loom, Mirabelle, with me so Amanda could help me to warp her up. This was a huge learning day for me and it took ages just to get the warp on and ready to weave.

Once the Teksolv heddles were attached we started to wind the warp…

20130513-202747.jpg

Luckily, Amanda has a winding mill… 100 warp threads, or ends, in order to weave an 8 inch piece (we rounded the number of ends up to the closest 10, it should have been 96), meant a lot of yarn to wind! We decided on a 7 metre warp of a 2ply Bendigo yarn in white. The seemingly endless warp length just means that I’ll be weaving for a while before I need to return to Amanda for help again!!!

20130513-203145.jpg

I learnt how important it is to maintain the “cross”… (Amanda became a hand model for this photo!!!)

20130513-203319.jpg

…how to sley the reed

20130513-203420.jpgo

and thread the heddles.

20130513-203524.jpg

Warp all tensioned, a job that really is made easier with the help of a friend, and I’m all ready to start weaving.

This Internet world really is an amazing place. I found Amanda by googling the name of the maker of my loom and discovered that she had recently assisted another soul with warping exactly the same loom. Amanda has been so so generous with her time and information sharing. She directed me to Petlins so that I could purchase a few bits and pieces for Mirabelle, she’s emailed me and we’ve spoken over the phone about issues I wasn’t sure about and then, sight unseen, she invited me to her home where she fed me a delicious bowl of soup and put aside 5 hours to help me get started with my weaving on this loom. Good, old fashioned, friendly helpfulness… Thank you thank you thank you Amanda!!! You’re a ripper!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ready to weave

  1. sheralynn says:

    Don’t you love the kindness of weavers?! I’m so excited for you and Mirabelle!!

Leave a Reply

